Michigan Bans Texting and Driving
A ban on the use of cell phones to send text messages or e-mail while driving in Michigan was signed into law by Gov. Jennifer Granholm on the April 30thbroadcast of “The Oprah Winfrey Show.”
The Michigan House passed the third and final bill in a texting ban package by an 82-22 vote. The Legislature passed the main bills in the package in April. The ban will go into effect for Michigan drivers July 1, 2010.
So what does it mean? As of July 1, texting will be a primary offense, meaning police can pull over Michigan motorists for texting alone. A first offense would cost $100 and repeat offenses would cost $200. No points will be added to a violator’s driving record. Injured? Call Mike Morse Law Firm today.