“This firm’s professionalism far exceeds the normal verbal and written communications expected from a law office. They could not have done a better job with the matters concerning my case and I would highly recommend them.”
Michigan Attendant Care Benefits
Michigan Attendant Care Benefits Explained
Michigan Attendant Care Benefits are available for people who have suffered a significant injury related to a Michigan car accident, motorcycle accident or semi-truck accident. If an accident victim is unable to adequately care for themselves, a third party assistant may be hired to help during the injured party’s time of need. The assistant chosen can be a husband or wife, child, neighbor, friend or professional. The No-Fault Insurance Company is financially responsible to pay the assistant at an hourly rate. You will need a doctor’s note and an affidavit from your caregiver to receive this benefit.
Who Are Michigan Attendant Care Benefits For?
Attendant care is for those who have a significant injury related to an auto accident in Michigan. When someone cannot take care of themselves, for example, personal hygiene, getting dressed, changing bandages, toileting, feeding, taking medications, assistance in walking, needing supervision or someone just being “on-call”, the No-Fault Insurance Company will pay to have another person perform these services for the injured person. Often these situations occur when the injured person has required some type of surgery, spinal cord injury or traumatic brain injury.
Is there a limit on how long Attendant Care Benefits are paid?
Attendant care services can last anywhere from a day to a lifetime. This benefit is paid at an hourly rate and, many times, benefits are paid for around the clock assistance, seven days per week. Michigan case law has held that a person is entitled to be paid for the attendant care even while sleeping or doing chores. Merely supervising an injured person is enough to get paid for attendant care benefits.
At what rate should the Michigan Attendant Care Benefits be paid?
There is Michigan Case Law that indicates that a family member should be paid the same rate that an agency would charge. The rate depends on the type of services being rendered. The skill level required for the services will help in determining the rate. The level starts at unskilled or supervision attendant care, and escalates to highly skilled or registered nursing level care. Rates agencies charge are anywhere from $17.00 an hour to over $50.00 an hour. The experts at the Mike Morse Law Firm will personally help you negotiate the highest rate for the services performed. If a family member cannot perform the services, then The Mike Morse Law Firm will help find the perfect agency to help fill the needs of the injured person at no charge to the family.
Home Modifications for persons injured in a Michigan Car Accident
Pursuant to the Michigan No-Fault Act, you may be entitled to home modifications to be paid for by your insurance company to make your home more accessible for the injured person. This requires a prescription from your physician indicating what type of modifications you would need. Occupational Therapists and architects who are knowledgeable in these type of cases, are very useful in determining what can be done to an existing home or apartment. Our legal experts will help negotiate with the insurance company or file a lawsuit against the insurance company to pay for home modifications.
Van purchases, Van modifications and Attendant Care Transportation
If because of your auto accident injury, your doctor feels that you need a special van or vehicle, the No-Fault Act requires your insurance company to pay for it. The Mike Morse Law Firm negotiates with insurance companies for persons suffering from spinal cord injuries who require vans with lift devices and other special needs. When a special vehicle is needed many issues can arise such as vehicle ownership, who pays the insurance, gas, damage and routine maintenance. Let Mike Morse, an expert in Michigan Personal Injury Law to help you. There is no cost for hiring a personal injury lawyer to help you with this very important step in your rehabilitation process.
Contact Us For Answers To Your Michigan Attendant Care Benefits Questions
Have more questions? Contact our experienced staff of Michigan car accident lawyers and ask them for free by dialing 855-MIKE-WINS or e-mail us. Remember, NO fees are charged until we settle your case.