“This firm’s professionalism far exceeds the normal verbal and written communications expected from a law office. They could not have done a better job with the matters concerning my case and I would highly recommend them.”
Michigan Auto Accident Lawyer | Michigan Car Accident
What is Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Even though Michigan law requires drivers to have automotive insurance, not everyone does. Maybe the uninsured could not afford the monthly premiums. Perhaps they simply forgot to make a payment on time and their coverage was terminated. Regardless of the cause, someone who doesn’t have vehicle insurance probably isn’t going to have money to pay for your injuries or property damages either. So where does that leave you? If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, it may leave you paying the costs of the accident, even if you were not at fault.
The Benefits Of Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Purchasing uninsured motorist coverage (UMC) helps protect you if are involved in a “hit-and-run” situation or are hit by a negligent driver who did not have auto insurance coverage at the time of the accident to cover your losses related to bodily injury or personal property such as your car, your fence, or your cell phone. For a relatively inexpensive investment in this type of insurance policy, big costs are avoided later.
Types Of Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage
There are a couple types of uninsured motorist coverage you should be aware of:
- UM bodily injury coverage, which includes pain and suffering
- UM property damage coverage, which usually involves damage to your vehicle
How To Get Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Talk to your insurance agent. You can and should purchase this type of coverage within your automotive policy.
How Much Uninsured Motorist Coverage Should I Buy?
We are asked this question all the time, and the smart move is to purchase as much as you possibly can afford. In the event you or a loved one is seriously injured as a result of an uninsured driver’s negligence, you will still want to be compensated for pain and suffering. Without the coverage, that will most likely be impossible. Many insurance companies recommend minimal coverage of $100,000. Fortunately, this coverage is relatively inexpensive. Look at your policy today! If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, or if you are not sure, call your agent to find out.
Making an Uninsured Motorist Coverage Claim
Prompt reporting of the accident to the police and your insurance company is critical to receive full benefits of your uninsured motorist policy. Your insurance company should be notified within 24 hours of the accident. Insurance companies often have deadlines during which these types of claims can be made; some may be as short as 24 hours! If you miss the deadline, you will miss your chance for receiving benefits.
We Can Help With Your Michigan Car Accident
Have more Michigan accident questions? Call our experienced staff of Michigan accident lawyers and ask them for free by dialing 855-MIKE-WINS or contact us for a free consultation. Remember, no fees are charged until we settle your Michigan auto accident case.